Printing documents

You can print the current file using File→Print→Print all. By default, TeXmacs assumes that you have a 600dpi printer for a4 paper. These default settings can be changed in Edit→Preferences→Printer. You can also print to a postscript file using File→Print→Print all to file (in which case the default printer settings are used for creating the output) or File→Export→Postscript (in which case the printer settings are ignored).

You may export to PDF using File→Export→Pdf. Notice that you should set Edit→Preferences→Printer→Font type→Type 1 if you want the produced Postscript or PDF file to use Type 1 fonts. However, only the CM fonts admit Type 1 versions. These CM fonts are of a slightly inferior quality to the EC fonts, mainly for accented characters. Consequently, you might prefer to use the EC fonts as long as you do not need a PDF file which looks nice in Acrobat Reader.

When adequately configuring TeXmacs, the editor is guaranteed to be wysiwyg: the result after printing out is exactly what you see on your screen. In order to obtain full wysiwygness, you should in particular select Document→Page→Type→Paper and Document→Page→Screen layout→Margins as on paper. You should also make sure that the characters on your screen use the same number of dots per inch as your printer. This rendering precision of the characters may be changed using Document→Font→Dpi. Currently, minor typesetting changes may occur when changing the dpi, which may globally affect the document through line and page breaking. In a future release this drawback should be removed.

Permission is granted to copy, distribute and/or modify this document under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License, Version 1.1 or any later version published by the Free Software Foundation; with no Invariant Sections, with no Front-Cover Texts, and with no Back-Cover Texts. A copy of the license is included in the section entitled "GNU Free Documentation License".